“Waiting for Cam.” (Writing Challenge)

Finally! I’m so happy! Fresh material for my blog! It’s been ages – essentially February has been my off-month – since I posted something original that’s mine. Not because I’m lazy but because I’m so busy I’m essentially processing back-orders of stories!

To just give a quick overview of what I – have – been doing, just haven’t been able to post yet due to it being cooperative projects, I’ve been working on:

  • A drama-romance with Lindsay Pate entitled: “Camo & Silk”. (We’re currently working on the second part)
  • A cooperative story with Christopher Shawbell and Chris Liccardi – currently taking the shape of a Spy-novella. (But it could change completely as we have no pre-set storyline – which is what makes it fun!) (I started the story, Mr. Shawbell has finished his addition, Chris will be adding his soon)
  • Finished the first story for “Hobo Horrors” for our website The Darker Half. (A serial story about a hobo travelling through America, experiencing strange and scary phenomenon)
  • Finished my version of “Coming to America”. (A series of short stories by all writers at The Darker Half about immigrants arriving in America at the turn of the 20th Century.

So, essentially, I’ve got all of this done – it’s just waiting for release dates and/or additions from my co-authors! So I’m not dead, I haven’t stopped writing and I don’t plan on doing so anytime soon either!

Now, without further ado, here’s my latest original work for a writing challenge by Danielle Tauscher – you can read it below or on her page here.

The challenge was to make a story based on this photo:

Waiting for Cam

“Anything yet?” Micky said to Daphne as she peaked out the window.
“No…” She sighed and sipped from her glass.
“Fuck!” Mickey hissed, “This is going to be the world’s lamest surprise party ever!”

The door swung open, for a moment everyone held their breath.
“Look who’s fabulous!” Francois yelled, posing with two bottles of champagne.
A sigh of relief filled the room.
“Christ, Francois! We thought you were Cam!” Duane said lowering his professional Canon DSLR camera.
“I love Cam but he doesn’t know how to work it like I do…” He said and Vogued with the champagne.
“Nice. Now we can’t open those bottles for the next half hour or so, way to go Flashdance.” Ryder mumbled while sipping from a beer.
“Honey, I know you’re a straight but you throw shade like a queen.” Francois replied.
“I don’t even know what that means?” Ryder said confused.
“In straight guy talk it means you have an attitude like an effeminate gay boy.” Duane said while nonchalantly fiddling with his camera.
“…What the hell am I even doing here?” Ryder said with big eyes.
“What we’re all doing here – waiting for Cameron to come home from Japan.” Mickey kicked in and smacked his friend at the back of the head, “Come on! You, me and the two fat guys from the printing department against the rest of the gay population at this party!”
“Good luck with that, that’s the four of you against twenty of us.” Duane smiled, “Welcome to our world!”
“Actually, you’d still have it worse than we do. You’re black too.” Ryder snickered, the three laughed.

The kitchen was slowly becoming a mess, after three hours of waiting everyone was drinking and eating.
“Where’s the sushi?!” Francois said demanding.
“Will you calm down?” Replied Daphne, “It’s in the fridge.”
Francois ate one and sighed dramatically.
“So, who’s genius idea was it anyway to bring the poor guy sushi after coming back from Japan?” Daphne asked while making a rum cola.
“Duane… He has no class.” Francois assured.
“You know, for a guy who still Vogues in 2013 and eats the party boy’s food you’re pretty full of yourself.” Daphne’s girlfriend said while sipping from the rum cola. Francois rolled his eyes and marched off.
“Men, right?” Daphne laughed and kissed her girlfriend.

“So, anything yet?”
“Oh, you again…” Duane said and gave Francois a look.
“Don’t give me that, when was the last time you even had contact with Cam?”
“Two, three weeks ago. We discussed that Tokyo fashion brand though I never heard back about that… Hmmm…”
“Hey, you know what? That is odd. He was supposed to get back to me about that new logo for the campaign, he didn’t!” Ryder remembered.
“So typically Cam.” Francois said, “He always forgets everything, I seriously wonder if he cares at all.”
“Oh, hey… Come on now!” Mickey added, “We’re not doing this, are we? That’s not right.”
“It’s a little right.” Duane smirked, “Remember when you had to hang out with that Swedish marketeer all day because he forgot about the appointment?”
“Oh yeah, that. Yeah, I had to hang out with a gorgeous Swedish brunette girl who really wanted to make out with an American… Yeah, that was terrible… Good call, Duane.” Ryder laughed and checked plane arrivals on his phone, “Says right here that his plane should have landed hours ago now.” He mumbled, “Are you sure you got all the right info?”
“Oh my God… Are you doubting me?” Francois replied, “I should know! Cause I ordered him those tickets – he probably missed his flight, typical.”

“So where do you think he is?” Daphne’s girlfriend said to her as they walked back into the living room.
“Knowing Cam he’s either missed his flight or somehow successfully managed to catch a plane to the wrong destination and meets a local girl he falls head over heels with…”
“Scatter brained, huh?”
“I do believe that is the term.” Daphne sighed.
“Makes you wonder how he got the j-o-b…” Francois smiled slyly as he walked passed.
“Hey!” Daphne said in shock but couldn’t oppress a smirk.
Francois re-filled his cup with punch and strolled back.
“It’s true though, isn’t it!” He continued and rolled his eyes, “He’s always late, forgets everything and has NO sense for fashion what so ever… Just look at these folding chairs! Oh… my… God… Was that his only family heirloom or something?”
“Franny!” Daphne laughed loudly in shock, “That’s terrible!”
“I’m just saying it like it is, you know me.” Francis said and blushed just slightly, “This queer here has swag for the whole party.”
“What was that now?” Micky kicked in as he replaced his beer with another Amstel.
“That Cam has no style…” Francis repeated himself.
“…Looks okay to me.”
“Does it?” Daphne said with a mild grin.
“Well… It’s clear he doesn’t have a girlfriend to fancy up his place, but… Ryder’s place is worse.”
“Hey, man! I resent that!” His friend snickered, “He already took my promotion, I’m not letting him take the fancier place either!”
“He did so steal your promotion… He took your thunder, darling.” Francis added.
“He kind of did.” Daphne agreed and kissed her girlfriend on the cheek.
“Hmpfff…” Ryder grumbled.
It’s cool – it’s cool.” Mickey snickered, “Ryder just – had – to sleep with that chick from marketing.”
“Oh, come on! Everyone slept with the chick from marketing!” A voice said, the two print workers had joined the conversation, their office clothes, beer bellies and party hats standing out like a sore thumb.
“…Well, did you?” Ryder said with a tone of discomfort, the thought of the print workers having had intercourse with the same girl he did was unnerving at the least.
“Oh, you mean the two of us?” The print worker replied and look at this friend momentarily.
“…Yeah?” Mickey said with curious, big eyes – entertained by the awkwardness.
“Oh, no – no.” The print worker admitted, “But we’ve heard stories you wouldn’t even…”
“Okay, thank you!” Francis interrupted and gasped for air, “Have you two even brought anything?”
For a moment both men kept silent.
“We brought party hats…” The other replied.
“Yes, you did. And your beer bellies. Thanks, boys.” Francis bit at them.
“…I hate Cam.” Ryder said depressed, “I mean he’s my friend and I love him but… He’s just so damn lucky. You know?”
“Yeah, he kinda is.” Mickey jumped in, “I mean, it’s only because of his ex-girlfriend’s dad that he got to work at the most prestigious fashion magazine… And the promotion!”
“Naw, I fucked up the promotion myself.” Ryder sighed.
“Well, yeah but his ex father-in-law jumped at the opportunity! Word has it that he’s trying to get his daughter and Cam back together. Even though he cheated on her twice! Twice!”
“Wow!? Twice!? Man, he only told me of the one…” Ryder said disappointed.
“He did? Oh man, you missed out! He even had pictures and a video of the second girl!” Mickey said enthusiastically.
“Oh- Ewww!” Francis said and waved his hand.
“He did!? Oh goddamnit – that’s it. The second he walks in that door I’ll twist his nipples… I even showed him my pictures of back when I was still with Sandy… What a douche-…”

The front door of the apartment opened quietly and within a second everyone went silent.
“Surprise!” They all yelled together.
In front of them stood a man slightly older than Cam, surprised and confused.
“Who are you?!” Someone from the crowd yelled, everyone laughed quietly.
“I’m his brother, Allen…” He seemed in total shock, holding onto a vase.
“Well, your brother’s late for the party but feel free to come on in!” Someone else said.
“Ugh, typical… Even stands his family up.” Daphne hissed.
“What is up with that guy sometimes?” Mickey shook his head.
“I don’t think you understand…?” Cameron’s brother said.
“Oh?” Francis said and walked over, “Enlighten us and maybe you can explain to us Cam’s terrible taste for style too. That terrible vase you got there will fit perfectly around here.”
Cameron’s brother turned red and his eyes watery.
“…Fuck you guys.” He said and put down the vase next to the alcohol, several cups fell over and splashed onto the vase. “This… This is Cam…” And pointed at the vase, “Enjoy the party.”

It was quiet all throughout the apartment, slowly Cam’s brother backed out the door looking everyone in the eyes as he left.

9 comments

  1. dylanjmorgan

    Nice little story, Bobby. Enjoyed the ending especially. Glad to know you’re not dead and that you’re still writing. It’s a relief!

    • Severed Limb Movement

      Thanks, man! Yeah, it’s all about the ending – that should send them off with a bit of a guilt trip!
      Also, wonderful review of your book at Mari’s; hope it does great you certainly deserve it!

  2. Christopher Shawbell

    Outstanding dialog, Bobby…very organic, and you managed, in impressive fashion, to give a recognizable voice to characters in a banter-type environment very quickly. Often I knew who was speaking before being told. Cam being dead, was the only way this was going to end, it seemed, yet you delivered and expected punchline with a great twist, and perfect finality to wrap the scene. I concur with the other The Darker Half; you indeed never cease to impress, my friend. Bravo!

    ~Christopher

Leave a Reply

